Rs. 6.50 crores worth scholarships were distributed to the children of Dharmasthala Self-help committee members, facilitated by Dharmasthala Rural Development Program. Higher Education Minister G T Devegowda distributed the scholarships to students.
Speaking at the occasion, G T Devegowda said “Shri Kshetra Dharmasthala has actively ventured into social, economic and revolutionary developments in the fields of education, healthcare, women empowerment, upliftment of backward classes, entrepreneurship and so on since the past 4 decades.” He expressed appreciation for the rural women who are a part of these initiatives for having contributed to accumulation of Rs.1400 crores and facilitation of Rs. 8700 crores of loan from the rural development project. The Minister also informed the gathering at the occasion that the government has approved establishment of SDM dental college at Dharwad.
Presiding over the event, the Dharmadhikari of Dharmasthala Dr.D Veerendra Heggade said “Students must focus on and make the right use of all facilities provided to them and excel in student life, keeping exam fears aside. Always learn with curiosity and enthusiasm in order to build a holistic personality. Hard work combined with prayers and divine blessings will always yield positive results.”
Maatrushree Hemavathi Heggade inaugurated the ‘Sujnana Nidhi Vruddhi Sangha’, a committee for monitoring scholarship funds at the occasion. She said “Students must take bold initiatives to pursue major dreams. Will power, intellect and creativity can take an individual a long way. Knowledge is the only power that can drive away both ignorance and poverty. In that direction, whatever contributions people make towards the scholarship fund will be greatly regarded.”
The pass book consisting details of Rs.2 lakhs contributed by students was handed over to Maatrushree Hemavathi Heggade by Vimalesh, Akshay and Shrikanth.
K Harish Kumar, MLC, Vijayakumar, Principal of Karnataka Polytechnic, Koragappa Naika, member of Zilla Panchayat, Dhanalakshmi Janardhan, Taluk Panchayat member and Chandan Prasad Kamath, member of Gram Panchayat Dharmasthala were present at the occasion. HL Manjunath welcomed the gathering while B Jayarama Nellittaya rendered the vote of thanks.